This is a question that may not have been asked so often, but it’s an interesting one to answer. You see, some people say squid is halal because the only way to catch them is by netting them in the ocean and then killing them as quickly as possible (without any unnecessary suffering).
On the other hand, others claim that they come into contact with plenty of contaminants and chemicals along the way before finally arriving at their destination, which makes them haram. Who’s right? Let’s take a closer look.
What Will I Learn? show
Is squid halal?
Yes, Squid is halal. It’s because of the way they are caught. You see, when you catch a squid in the ocean, there is no unnecessary suffering. Because it’s done so quickly and there is no pain felt during or after the process, it can be considered halal.
In the early days of Islam, people used to eat lobster and similar creatures because they didn’t know about other means of hunting these creatures besides a net.
Is squid halal in Islam?
Squid is indeed halal. It’s actually zabiha, which means that it has been slaughtered in the correct way. If you see that the meat of squid is red then this means that it was zabiha.
If we look at the Quran and the ahadeeth, we will see that there is no problem in eating any food which is not specifically prohibited.
The Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) said:
“Whoever kills a fly, shall have the reward of freeing a slave. But whoever kills them with a ways of which Allah has forbidden, shall have the punishment of freeing a slave.” (Bukhari)
We must also remember that the Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) never cursed any food. He would always pray for people to eat whatever they wanted as long as it was not haram.
If you are eating at a restaurant or somewhere else where they say that the food is halal then check to make sure that the most common ways of cooking foods don’t include haram.
Why is squid halal?
It’s because of how it’s caught. Squid are caught in the ocean by using nets. This catches plenty of other sea life along with the squid, so their only choice is to kill everything in the net. But if they can use another method that doesn’t involve killing (or even capturing) other sea creatures then this would be better.
Also, if you see that the meat of squid is red then this means that it was zabiha (slaughtered correctly). If you see that there is no blood then it means that the squid was not zabiha.
Are there any Muslims that believe squid is haram?
Why do some people say squid is haram?
There are two reasons for this:
1) Contaminants and chemicals that get into their system from being caught by netting them in the ocean.
2) The chemicals and contaminants that seep into their bodies through consumption of contaminated fish or raw, living squid.
Absence of the first reason means that these people are wrong. I’m pretty sure there’s no way to catch a squid’s body without causing pain (even if you catch them in the ocean), so their argument is invalid. They may claim that this is because they are carnivores, but you’ll note that they don’t agree with eating fish which are caught using the same method. So this seems to be a purely emotive argument, and nothing else.
With regard to the second reason, we can look at the way in which these people consume these contaminated fish and squid. They don’t cook them at all (at least, not when they can). This is because they consider it to be haram to eat anything that enters your body in an inherently (haraam) unclean state (e.g. while moving).
So, if you eat fish straight out of the sea, it’s obviously unclean because it’s still alive. But if you don’t consume it alive (by cleaning and cooking it), then this argument can’t be used anymore (although some people do give this reason for not eating fish).
The same argument applies to squid. If you eat them alive, or while they’re still wriggling around in your mouth, then this is halal.
If you don’t eat them while they’re alive and haven’t touched anything that may be contaminated (like your hands), then the only problem would be if you were to consume their ink. After all, all sea creatures have ink inside of them and it’s essentially still part of the creature that you’re consuming.
But this is a very unlikely thing to happen. Because the ink wouldn’t be able to enter your system because you would have already swallowed it which would have killed it before it was able to come into contact with your stomach. The only way the ink could enter your body is if you didn’t cook or clean it. In which case, you’re eating unclean fish, not unclean squid.
Is squid halal Shia?
The shia scholars say that squid is halal. They allow it because there is no certain proof that it’s not halal (there’s no hadith or Quran verse forbidding it). But again, they only allow the consumption of squid in emergency situations when there is no other food source.
Is squid halal Hanafi?
The hanafis say that it’s halal. It’s because of the way they’re caught (without unnecessary suffering) and the way they are prepared (with zabiha methods).
Is squid halal Islamqa?
It is a fact that squid and similar creatures are allowed according to islamqa.
“Praise be to Allaah. Some people have asked whether eating lobster and other sea animals is permissible according to the Qur’aan and Sunnah if they are slaughtered by being thrown into boiling water. There is no text in sharee’ah that says that it is haraam, so it is permissible as long as the conditions of slaughtering for meat are fulfilled.
Is squid halal Salafi?
The most common opinion in Salafi circles on this is that it is halal.
The sahaabah (companions of the prophet) used to eat kshaaraq (squid) and other sea creatures. The Prophet (peace be upon him) said: “Whoever eats kshaaraq will have the reward of freeing a slave.” (Sahih Al-Jami’ by al-Bukhaari, no. 6610; see also Sahih al-Jaami’, 5662).
Is squid halal Sistani?
There is no explicit evidence in the Quran or hadith forbidding it, and this is why some Sistani people say that:
It is allowed (because there is no mention of it being prohibited). So squid is halal according to Sistani.
Conclusion: Is eating squid Halal or Haram?
There is no direct prohibition in the Quran or hadith against eating squid. So, if it’s prepared in the correct way, then it’s halal.
And Allah knows best!
Comments from our readers…
“I’m so happy that squid is halal because I’ve been eating it for a long time. The only thing I’m worried about is that I have been consuming its ink.”
“Squid is definitely halal because there is no proof that it’s haram. It’s halal because of how it’s caught and the Zabiha method. I’m pretty sure there is no way for the ink to enter your body because you would have swallowed it which would kill it before you could taste it.”
“Squid is totally halal!”
“Squid and other sea creatures are totally halal. No problem with it.”
“May Allah make squid halal for you!”
- Are Takis Halal or Haram?
- Are Cheetos Halal or Haram?
- Is KFC Halal or Haram?
Which seafood is haram in Islam? ›
Any fish without scales are haram but fish that do have scales are permissible. Shia scholars tend to teach that no other aquatic creatures are halal, with the exception of certain edible aquatic crustaceans (i.e., shrimps but not crabs), which are also Halal like scaled fish.Can Muslims eat squid ink? ›
Hence, since rats on land are prohibited, then rats in the seas (squid) is also prohibited. Furthermore, squid also contains a black ink (considered as dirty) and dirty things are prohibited to be eaten.Is Duck halal in Islam? ›
Strangely, even though duck is permitted by Islam, it is not as widely featured in its gastronomic offerings. Arabic recipes written in the medieval times suggest that this dietary pattern was established hundreds of years ago.Can Muslims eat snails? ›
Though both Muslims and Christians eat snails, they are more popular among Christians, as land snails come under the rule against eating insects in some Islamic sects.What foods are forbidden in Islam? ›
Forbidden food substances include alcohol, pork, carrion, the meat of carnivores and animals that died due to illness, injury, stunning, poisoning, or slaughtering not in the name of God.Are lobsters haram? ›
Lobsters and other shellfish don't have scales. The Hanafi school of thought also declare all shellfish including prawns, octopus, shrimps, and lobsters as non-permissible in the Islamic diet. But, the majority of Islamic followers decree that lobster is Halal.Are squid balls Halal? ›
Squid ball with springiness and special taste. Can be fried, steam or cook in soup. . Most suitable for steamboat, cocktail and hotel buffets, home parties, side dishes in cafes, wedding dinner etc. Our products are Halal certified by Jakim Malaysia and can be frozen and store up to 18 months.
“Dar-ul-uloom, Deoband, which once considered prawn as makruh, has now declared it as halal. In Hanafi School, consumption of prawn is not advisable, but in Shafi School, it's permitted.Is Kimchi is Halal? ›
As the fermentation process involves the production of alcohol, it's not uncommon to ask – is kimchi halal? Yes, Kimchi is indeed halal. Due to the tiny amounts of alcohol released during fermenting, you won't feel the effects of it when you eat kimchi. As a result, eating kimchi is permissible for Muslims.Are frogs halal? ›
Frog meat is considered as haraam (non-halal) according to some Islamic dietary laws. Those who consider it haraam cite the hadith that prohibits the killing of frogs, together with ants, bees, and seabirds.
Can Muslims eat oysters? ›
Essentially all types of seafood are Halal suitable, based on verse 5:96 of the Qur'an, which states, “Lawful to you is what you catch from the sea and use for food as provision for yourself and for the travelers...” Because this states broadly that what is caught from the sea is acceptable, it includes plants like ...Can Muslims eat rabbit? ›
According to the above discussion and arguments, in our opinion rabbits are halal to be eaten and it is not makruh as stated by the jumhur of scholars following clear evidences that state its halal status.Is Grasshopper halal in Islam? ›
Halal with conditions
Locusts and grasshoppers are Halal to consume. If a bug fell in your soup or stew, you can still eat your meal with a tiny amount of insect in it. If people do not have access to food and insects are available for consumption, it is permissible to eat insects for survival.
Myth: Snail mucin extract isn't Halal
Truth: Under Halal regulations, snail mucin extract is permitted when is not eaten, has no blood (snail mucin is the excretion from a snail), and as an ingredient only if it's harvested ethically.
According to the Hanafi school, it is impermissible to eat snails. This applies to both land- and water-dwelling varieties.Can Muslims eat Chick Fil A? ›
Chick-fil-A does not use halal meat in any of its products, so Muslims should be aware that they may not be able to find anything on the menu that is suitable for them. As a result, Muslims are unable to enjoy one of America's most popular fast-food chains.Is Donkey halal or haram? ›
The meat of ahli donkey (domesticated/reared) is prohibited to be eaten because its meat is najis as stated in the above discussion. While the meat of wild donkeys is halal to be eaten and this is the opinion cited by Imam al-Nawawi and all scholars have agreed (without khilaf) regarding this matter.Can Jews eat halal? ›
Summing up, Muslim buyers can consume kosher products. Jewish buyers cannot do likewise with halal. For many Muslim buyers, non-alcoholic kosher food products are considered halal.Is Caviar is halal? ›
At the end of a laborious process involving both clerics and fisheries experts, the traditional ruling was reversed, and caviar was declared halal (permitted).Why can't Muslims eat lobster? ›
A lobster is a shellfish. For some Islam sects, such as Shia Muslims, this sea creature is Haram. This is because the Shia Muslim only consider fish with scales as Halal.
Can Jews eat lobster? ›
Lobster is not kosher: Jewish Scriptures prohibit eating all shellfish. Nevertheless, Maine's Jews have developed a pronounced fondness for one of this state's signature dishes. Many Jewish Mainers eat lobster even though they would never eat pork, another forbidden food.Does squid count as meat? ›
According to Health Canada, calamari belongs to the meat and meat alternatives food group. This food group is important as it provides essential nutrients, particularly protein.Is A squid kosher? ›
Animals that live in water can only be eaten if they have fins and scales. This means that shrimps, prawns and squid are not fish in the true sense, and so they are just as non-kosher as the eel which has lost its fins through evolution.Is squid fish sauce halal? ›
Halal. Contains: Fish. Free From: Added MSG. No added colours and artificial preservatives.Is sushi halal in Islam? ›
Yes, sushi is considered halal if the remaining ingredients are halal. There is nothing Haram in eating Sushi unless they put alcohol in it. If it's alcohol free and it's only raw seafood there's no problem in that. Sushi is permissible to eat providing it is not harmful.Why are shrimp halal but not kosher? ›
While Islamic law does not forbid seafood shellfish like lobster or shrimp are not considered Kosher. For a fish to be eaten it has to have scales as well as fins. The removal of blood is a main process in ensuring that food is prepared within the dietary restrictions of the Jewish faith.Can we eat fish and milk together in Islam? ›
Fish and milk can be consumed, as there has been no mention in the narrative of their prohibition. The phrase “Don't eat fish and drink milk” is one that is frequently used in language books. This is just a linguistic example and has nothing to do with an Islamic prohibition.Is tofu halal in Islam? ›
Tofu is useful ingredient of food because not only Muslim but vegetarian can eat it. This food contains high quality vegetable protein. So it's good for Muslims who can't eat pork to get vitamin B1.Is Vinegar is halal? ›
In a hadith narrated by Ayesha, Muslim and Ibn Maja, Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) said, “Allah has put blessing in vinegar, for truly it was used by the Prophets before me.” Since vinegar can came from a variety of sources (i.e. fruits, corn, etc.)Are pickles halal? ›
According to Hayek, the ethanol produced by the fermentation process is not enough for the food item to be prohibited in Islam or be declared not halal. Examples of this would be foods lie yogurt and pickles which, while fermented, create only trace amounts of ethanol and are hence permitted in Islam.
Is shrimp is halal in Islam? ›
“Dar-ul-uloom, Deoband, which once considered prawn as makruh, has now declared it as halal. In Hanafi School, consumption of prawn is not advisable, but in Shafi School, it's permitted.Is oyster sauce is halal? ›
Gunma Halal Food presents Premium Oyster Sauce حلال (Halal Certified). You can find other Sauce items in Gunma Halal Food. Premium Oyster Sauce حلال is available in Gunma Halal Food. The product quality is very premium.Can Jews eat shrimp? ›
Animals that live in water can only be eaten if they have fins and scales. This means that shrimps, prawns and squid are not fish in the true sense, and so they are just as non-kosher as the eel which has lost its fins through evolution.Can halal eat egg? ›
Thus, we can conclude that all types of eggs are halal to be eaten regardless of whether the egg originates from halal or non-halal animals except if there is evidence stating otherwise such as when it is harmful to those who eat it and others.Which seafood is not halal? ›
This means shellfish such as crabs, lobsters, prawns, shrimps, and oysters would be considered non-Halal by the Hanafi school of thought. Interestingly enough, the other three groups of Islamic scholars classify all shellfish, irrespective of whether it's a mollusk or crustacean, as Halal.Is Rabbit halal in Islam? ›
According to the above discussion and arguments, in our opinion rabbits are halal to be eaten and it is not makruh as stated by the jumhur of scholars following clear evidences that state its halal status.Can Muslims eat Worcestershire sauce? ›
As for Worcestershire sauce, it will be halal if it does not contain any haram ingredient. You should check the ingredients before buying.Is soy sauce halal Islam? ›
WHAT MAKES SOY SAUCE HALAL? All purpose soy sauce or non naturally brewed soy sauce is the Halal soy sauce. It is made from water, salt, hydrolyzed soy protein, corn syrup and sodium benzoate. Look out for more helpful information to help you make halal choices and eat healthy.Which sauces are halal? ›
- A&P Chili Padi & Garlic Sauce. Brand. A&P. ...
- Curry Laksa. Brand. ICFF. ...
- Sambal Sedap. Brand. Man Fook. ...
- D'Ansar Pes Ayam Masak Merah 200g. Brand. D'Ansar. ...
- Sambal Sauce & Paste | Buy Halal Sambal Sauce. Brand. Mak Long. ...
- Santan Sawit | Palm Milk. Brand. Salwa. ...
- Carbonara Keju. Brand. Makan.Hub. ...
- Pes Mesri Bookhari (Rice + Soup Paste) 1kg. Brand.
According to Jewish dietary law, meat products are prohibited to be consumed with milk or products derived from milk, such as cheese.
Can Jews eat onions? ›
The Chumash (B'midbar 11:5) enumerates onions as one of the five vegetables the Jews were fond of eating while still enslaved in Egypt. During the Middle Ages, before the discovery of the New World, onions were among the three main vegetables of European cuisine, along with beans and cabbage.Why is crab not kosher? ›
Crustaceans (such as lobster and crab) and other shellfish (such as clams) are not kosher, because they lack scales. Further, all aquatic mammals (e.g. whales and dolphins) are not kosher.Is yogurt halal or haram? ›
Halal foods (permitted by Islam)
Any food is Halal as long as it does not contain or come into contact with any of the Haram ingredients shown on the first page. For example, yogurt is Halal but not if it contains gelatin as one of the ingredients.
Milk, cheese, yogurt and butter can all be eaten. Fruits and vegetables are also considered halal unless they are known to be poisonous.