The concept of kosher food has spread to the world, and it came to be from the people who belong to the Jewish community, as they were consuming such foods for thousands of years.
So kosher food is not limited only to the Jews.
And this is not just a matter of food and culinary rules, but this is the matter that falls into the matters of some legal actions.
Here, we will this article, focus only on food and find out what kosher food is, and here more specifically related to the seafood, and regulations that are connected to it.
These kosher laws have been defined by the Torah for more than 3,500 years, and Jewish have strictly obeyed them for just as long, and people around the world have realized that this food has something in it, it is seen as clean and healthy, and they alos have started to look into the aisles in a market where it is written kosher food.
Jewish dietary rules is most certainly a phrase that we have listened to many times now, and it is the word in the Jewish religion, which represents something permitted or not based on the rules seen in Torah, to say it in the shortest possible way.
For Jewish people, the phrase “kashrut” is utilized not only with respect to food but also in other parts of conventional life – from lawful to household.
Here, in particular, we are going to speak more about the food that comes from the sea, and we are not talking about fish, but seafood, in particular, lobster.
Is this sea creature kosher, or it is not kosher?
What is the reason for it, later on, we will speak more about the nutritive values of a lobster, but primarily we must answer this question.
Table of Contents
Is Lobster Kosher?
The Jewish people have dietary rules that must be followed from a young age.
From a young age, children are told what is allowed and what is not with the Jewish people, and this is something that they need to adhere to throughout their lives.
It is a well-known fact among Jews that they may only eat fish that have certain physical characteristics, namely fins, and scales.
Everything else that does not have these physical characteristics is not kosher and must not be eaten.
This group also includes a well-known water inhabitant, the lobster.
Since the lobster does not have scales or fins, it is not kosher and cannot be consumed by the Jewish people.
This group also includes crabs.
Lobster is the most popular crustacean on the menu around the world and its price in restaurants is quite high.
But if we think a little, we will realize that it is only and exclusively a matter of prestige and that people buy it, not because they enjoy its taste, but also to prove themselves to their surroundings.
Lobsters are scavengers by nature, and we all know what scavengers are.
Would you have the desire to eat a scavenger?
Well, that’s exactly how a lobster feeds, only on the seabed.
He is the one who will eat everything that comes his way, so we can rightly say that his meat cannot be the healthiest if we are honest.
So the Jewish people should not be sad that lobster is on their “black” blacklist.
Even if the lobster is grown under controlled conditions and it is known what it eats, it is still not kosher, because their religion simply does not approve of Jews eating sea animals that do not have scales or fins.
The closest substitute for lobster can be surimi, so if a Jew wants to know approximately what lobster tastes like, he can try surimi.
Surimi is the meat of a white fish with scales and fins and is Kosher, but perhaps closer to the taste of crab than lobster.
Crab meat is also forbidden for the Jewish people, because of the same physical characteristics that it possesses, that is, it does not possess lobster itself, which is the lack of scales and fins.
The Jewish people respect their religion and everything that goes with it.
If something is forbidden to them, it is forbidden to everyone without exception.
If something is allowed for them, but there is a risk that something is not allowed in that food, they will make an effort to prepare the food themselves at home, to be sure that what they are eating is kosher.
As an example, we can cite honey, which is Kosher, but only if it does not contain additives that can make it prohibited.
That’s why they buy honey only from verified beekeepers or in shops where the honey has a certificate that it is kosher, which means that it has been inspected by their inspector, which is carried out by a rabbi and is very rigorous in terms of the quality of food that should be consumed by the Jewish people.
So from this, we can convey how important it is for them to observe their tradition and faith and how much they stick to it.
Therefore, when something is known to be forbidden, that is the end for them.
Which seafood is kosher?
By following the simple rule – fish is kosher when it has fins and scales, and this is fish like tuna or salmon.
All other creatures from the sea that do not have these traits are not allowed for consumption.
Shrimps, prawns, and squids are also under the category of food from the sea which is not permittable based on the kashrut.
More about lobster
A lobster is a type of marine crustacean whose natural habitat is cavities in rocky shores at a depth ranging from 30 to 100 m.
They are found in the seas of the temperate, tropical, and subtropical zones, and if you want to buy lobster in a country that is not close to these regions, you will most certainly not be able to buy a fresh kind.
Unlike all other kinds of crustaceans, lobsters do not have pincers, rather, something like openers is used to open their shells.
Apart from the point that you must spend a lot of money on it, even if you buy it, or you eat it in a restaurant, that is for sure.
And, we must speak of this type of food, which is classified as seafood, and cannot be found in every store.
In some countries, lobster can be bought mostly in well-stocked mega markets and fish shops, and usually frozen, rarely alive, and the quality of it is very debatable.
But when you buy a real deal, the high-quality lobster then its meat is seen as incredibly tasty.
Most who tried it claim that they enjoyed it “for all the money”, and in most countries, it is seen as a luxurious delicacy.
If those who want to consume it, have the money to pay for it, then they can do it, and those who are permitted to consume it may know that it has a good nutritional value.
It is rich in iodine, selenium, and B-group vitamins, and what makes it extremely nutritious is the high range of vitamin E.
Have in mind also that vitamin E has an important part in safeguarding cells from injury and helps regenerate damaged tissue of some organs.
If you want to lose some weight, you should eat lobster meat, as it is very high in protein.
A portion of 100 g of lobster meat contains more than 20 g of quality proteins.
Lobster meat has a low content of cholesterol and other harmful fats, and is not seen as a calorie-dense food.
There are only about 90 kcal in 100 g of lobster. That is why it is also excellent for those who are on a weight loss program or control their daily calorie intake.
At the beginning of this piece, we spoke of the Jewish food regulations, and we have spoken of the primary culinary as they are maybe mostly known, as you can see numerous kosher isles, restaurants, and even products that have this letter on them as they depict and make that this food applies to all kashrut standards.
The first thing that culinary kashrut begins with is to continually keep dishes for eating meat and dairy food individually, even cleaning them in different dishwashers or sinks.
In restaurants, it is important that the one that declares itself as kosher, prepare kosher and non-kosher food items separately.
Meat must not be stored in the freezer where fish and dairy food items are kept.
One of the traditional rules for the Jewish community is that they often have their first meal of the day often with some dairy, eggs, vegetables, and fish at times, for those who like it.
Later during the day, for supper, they are permitted to consume meat, desserts that do not have proteins and dairy, fruits, and also vegetables.
Now, here we spoke more about fish, and we spoke in particular of kosher fish and seafood, and we have explained why a certain food is not kosher, and this also includes lobster.
When you have fish that is considered to be kosher, then it is advisable to prepare it on the fire or in the oven.
It is forbidden to eat marine life such as lobsters, crabs, and eels, as they are not only scavengers of the sea, but they do not have fins and scales.
So, in the end, we have concluded that lobster is not kosher, and people who follow this diet cannot consume it.
Even if the lobster is grown under managed conditions and it is known what it eats, it is still not kosher, because their religion simply does not approve of Jews eating sea animals that do not have scales or fins.
The closest substitute for lobster can be surimi, so if a Jew wants to know roughly what lobster tastes like, he can try surimi.
This may be just one of the options and of course, all the regular fish that is allowed on the Jewish table, like tuna and salmon.
They are also options that are much easier to find and are also healthy.
It is clearly seen in Jewish Scriptures that it is forbidden to eat all shellfish.
However, there are some Jewish communities that love to eat such products, but even then they would never touch the pork or any products that are made out of it.
Lobsters and crabs, for example, are belonging to crustaceans, and other shellfish, like for example clams are nonkosher food, all of them even if they have fins they do not have scales, and this is the reason why their consumption is not permitted.
Read also: Is Crab Kosher? / Is Swai Fish Kosher?